Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Affordable Learning Ohio: News and Updates

Panel on Textbook Affordability at the State of the State Address

by Unknown User on 2018-02-14T11:54:00-05:00 | Comments

Ohio is lowering the cost of course materials for its college students.

We’ll be celebrating our successes—and talking about what’s next—as part of the activities surrounding Governor Kasich’s 2018 State of the State at Otterbein University, and you’re invited.

Date: March 6th, 2018

Time: 10:00 - 11:30 a.m.

Venue: Otterbein University, Towers Hall

Hashtag: #AFLOhio

Join OhioLINK and the Ohio Department of Higher Education for a discussion on textbook affordability and open educational resources, led by an esteemed panel of experts, practitioners, and students from around the state. Topics to be covered include ongoing grant activities, academic freedom and choice, inclusive access, and commercial textbooks.

We’ll share how Ohio is leading the way on the issue of affordability and open educational resources, outline current initiatives in the state, answer audience questions, and we’ll make some exciting announcements of our own. We hope you’ll join us.

This event is open to the public. No RSVP required

Free parking will be available on surface lots near the building. Click here to download a detailed map of campus. Towers Hall is marked as 31, with parking options marked in blue, numbers 14 and 17. 

Moderator and Panelists:


Gwen Evans

(Moderator) Executive Director of OhioLINK

Gwen Evans

Patrick A. Bennett

Franklin University’s Vice President, International Institute for Innovative Instruction & Global Operations

Patrick A Bennett


Kelly Broughton

Assistant Dean at Ohio University Libraries

Kelly Broughton


Bob Butterfield

Instructional Resource Services Director for the University Library at University of Wisconsin-Stout

Bob Butterfield


Dr. Dorey Diab

President of North Central State, representing the 15 community colleges in the OER Grant Group

Dr Dorey Diab


Alyssa Darden

Franklin University’s Director of Learning and Library Resources

Alyssa Darden


Gigi Meyer Escoe

Vice Provost for the University of Cincinnati

Gigi Meyer Escoe


Annika Fowler

Student and Secretary for Academic Affairs at Miami University

Annika Fowler


Dr. Shanna Jaggars

Director of Student Success Research for the Office of Distance Education and E-Learning at The Ohio State University

Shanna Jaggars


Sara Rollo

Assistant Professor at North Central State College

Sara Rollo


 Add a Comment



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.



OER Grant
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.